LibGuides: History of Medicine: Find Books/Media

Search for Books and Media in the Wright State and Affiliates Catalog

To search for books or media enter your search term(s), select a search option and click search.

Search the OhioLINK Catalog

OhioLINK Catalog
Click this link to access the OhioLINK catalog to search for materials in academic libraries throughout Ohio. When requesting items you will be asked for your institution. Select Wright State University.

Useful LC Subject Headings

Black death
Cholera--history
Disease Outbreaks – history
Epidemics -- United States – History
History of medicine
Influenza Epidemic, 1918-1919
Medicine—history
Medicine--Great Britain—History
Medicine -- Rome -- History
Medicine, Military -- United States – History
Medicine—United States—history
Public health --history
Public Health United States History
United States. Army -- Medical care – History
United States—History-- Civil War 1861 1865--Medical Care
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Medical care
United States -- History -- War of 1812 -- Medical care

[disease]--history

Useful MeSH Subject Headings

Cholera--history
Disease Outbreaks – history
Epidemics--history
History of medicine
Influenza human--history
Military medicine--history
Plague
Public health --history
Public health—history—United States
Smallpox--history

[disease]--history

Useful NLM Call Numbers

WA		Public health
WA 11		Public health--history
WB 116		Military medicine
WC		Communicable diseases
WC 11		Communicable diseases-history
WC262		Cholera
WC 350-355		Plague
WC 515		Influenza
WC 585-590		Small Pox
WC750-770		Malaria
WZ		History of Medicine

Books on Reserve

Frontier Medicine by David Dary
Call Number: WZ 70 AA1 D228f 2008
ISBN: 9780307263452
Publication Date: 2008-11-04
The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson
Call Number: WC 264 J69g 2007
ISBN: 9781594482694
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson
Call Number: Ebsco e-book
ISBN: 9781594482694
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
Silent Travelers by Alan M. Kraut
Call Number: WA 300 K868 1995
ISBN: 9780801850967
Publication Date: 1995-03-01

Digital Image Collections

Anatomia 1522-1867
Presents full-page plates and other illustrations of human anatomy from the Thomas Fisher Rare Books Library at the University of Toronto
Brought to Life
This archival copy maintained by the National Archives provides access to images of artifacts and objects in the medical collection of the Science Museum in London.
Digital Projects of the NLM
This site provides links to outstanding digital collections of anatomy atlases, medical books. etc.
MEDSpace: Historical Images in Medicine
Searchable collection of 3,000+ photos, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of health and life sciences.
Images from the History of Medicine
A major digital image collection on the History of Medicine maintained by the History of Medicine Division of the National Libray of Medicine.
Osler Library Prints Collection
McGill University presents a history of medicine through a collection of 2,500 images.
Seeing Is Believing
New York Public Library's digital exhibit of medical and scientific illustrations
Wellcome Images
The Wellcome Library provides access to one of the world's largest collection of images on the history of medicine.

Media Resources

Health and Society in Video This link opens in a new window
Explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--through documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews. If a login page displays, scroll down to the box labeled "Matching Customers" and select Kettering College of Medical Arts then click "Authorize as selected customer."
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A collection of educational films in streaming video format from Films for the Humanities and Science

Mutter Museum YouTube Channel
Videos about medical artifacts from the medical curiosities collection of the Mutter Museum in Philadelphia