Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Kettering College Library --- OERs LibGuide
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either (a) in the public domain or (b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities. (Creative Commons definition)
Learn about OERs
ACC Learn OER
This tutorial provides a series of self-paced online learning modules. The first nine modules will serve as an introduction to open educational resources (OER) and as an opportunity for further exploration and discovery of open education practices. The tenth module serves as a final assessment of your learning.
CCCOER OER Tutorials
This series of recorded tutorials provides basic concepts related to finding, adapting, and teaching with open educational resources.
Lumen Learning provides a simple, supported path for faculty members to adopt and teach effectively with open educational resources (OER).
Creative Commons: Open Education
Provides information about how the Creative Commons supports the creation of OERs.
SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) works to enable the open sharing of research outputs and educational materials in order to democratize access to knowledge, accelerate discovery, and increase the return on our investment in research and education.
Affordable Learning Ohio
This guide is intended to provide an overview of what Open Educational Resources and Affordable Learning initiatives are.
OER Cost Assessment Strategies
Moving to open resources requires extensive planning, selection, management, and maintenance. This article presents a brief overview of these issues.
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Open Educational Resources
This Code is a tool for educators, librarians, and authors to evaluate common
professional scenarios in which fair use can enable them to incorporate inserts,
including those protected by copyright, to create OER.
OA & OERs: The Same or Different?
Creative Commons Licenses
Mazwai Free Stock Video Footage
Mazwai provides free, high quality, cinematic style stock footage with either CC 3.0 or Mazwai license, that can be used in a wide-range of creative projects.
For Help Finding OERs in the Health Sciences
OER Meta-Search Tools
Mason OER Metafinder
This utility from George Mason University Libraries, searches 16 OER repositories at once.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) developed at SUNY Geneseo will simultaneously search 44 different open content sources.
BC Campus: Open Ed
The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties.
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. Except where otherwise noted, all material in Boundless courses are licensed under a CC BY-SA license.
EDUCAUSE: Open Educational Resources
A collection of all EDUCAUSE resources related to open educational resources (OER) in higher education.
Intech Open: Social Sciences and Humanitites
InTech is a major publisher of open access books, inlcuing this collection in the social sciences and humanities.
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Milne Open Textbooks
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Teach and learn psychology for free. Expertly compiled from Noba modules to fit the scope and sequence of common courses. Use them as-is or customize them to fit your needs. Instructor manual, PowerPoint presentations, and test bank available for many modules.
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
OERTX Repository is a public digital library of open educational resources for higher education.o improve instruction maintained by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
OhioLINK A-Z Affordable Learning Course Materials
A searchable list of Affordable Learning course materials.
OhioLINK Open Course Content Library
Welcome to the OhiolLINK dynamic digital library and network. Explore our library of open education resources curated and created by Ohio faculty and join our network of educators dedicated to curriculum improvement and collaboration.
Open Access Digital Theological Library
The OADTL is a non-profit corporation with the mission of supporting higher education in the study of religion by providing a discovery service for Open Access resources on theological topics.
Open eBooks by Discipline
Provides a list of disciplines covered by each of numerous open book sources.
Open Oregon Educational Resources
Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials.
Access older literature now in the public domain in e-boo format.
OpenStax publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
Open Textbook Library
Textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Health Science OERs
BC Campus Open Ed: Health Sciences
Browse the BC Campus collection of open access textbooks in the Health Sciences.
GW Nursing OERs
GW School of Nursing is pleased to share this collection of Open Educational Resources (OERs) for use by nurse educators worldwide.
InTech Books: Diagnostics
IntechOpen, a publisher of Open Access books
in the scientists provides this collection on medical diagnostics, including topics in ultrasound, CT, and MRI.
InTech Open: Health Sciences
IntechOpen is a leading publisher of Open Access books built by scientists, for scientists, including this collection in the Health Sciences.
MERLOT: Health Sciences
Vetted health sciences open education resources ranging from simulations to drills and reference materials
A collection of vetted nursing resources from MERLOT
MERLOT: Radiology Resources
A collection of OERS from MERLOT with a focus on radiology.
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
OER Commons: Nursing
Retrieves nursing OERs available in the OER Commons.
OER Commons: Ultrasound
OER Commons resources with a focus on ultrasound.
Open Michigan: Medical
Open Educational Resources from the University of Michigan Medical School
Open RN textbooks,sponsord by XanEdu, is in the process of providing access to a colleciton of OER nursing textbooks.
Radiopaedia is a free open-edit educational radiology resource.